Report of RCNP workshop

(1) Workshop title:

SNP2020 (International School for Strangeness Nuclear Physics; SNP School)

(2) Descriptions:

The 9th International School for Strangeness Nuclear Physics was held from December 2 to 5, 2020 at KEK Tokai Campus. This school has been held every year since 2012 as a Core-to-Core program.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we conducted the school in a hybrid style of visit in person and remote participation this year. There were 137 participants which consists of domestic participation 69 and overseas participation 68; 22 local and 115 remote participation, from 10 countries including Japan. In the previous school, the total number of participants was around 60, and therefore more than doubled participants attended this year.

There were many participants from countries or regions where it was difficult to participate in the conventional local holding. This implies the prediction of the advantage of the hybrid style in future events.

The main part of the school is the following five lectures;

1: Hideki Ueno (RIKEN) Nuclear spectroscopy with spin-polarized RI beams

2: Pascal Naidon (RIKEN) Universal few-body physics

3: Yusuke Tanimura (Tohoku U.) Microscopic approach to nuclear fission

4: Laura Tolos (ICE (CSIC, Barcelona)) Strangeness in nuclei and neutron stars

5: Koji Miwa (Tohoku U.) Hyperon-proton scattering experiment as a basic and new tool to investigate hyperon-nucleon interaction.

In addition, we organize a facility tour at J-PARC, and "Young Research Session" by 40 young people that was one of the high-light of this school.

Among them good presentations were awarded the following prizes; Hashimoto prize/ANPhA 1st prize to Tomohiro Oishi (Univ. of Zagreb), the SNP School Incentive Prize/ANPhA 2nd Prize to Kazuki Okuyama (Tohoku Univ.) and the SNP School Incentive Prize to T.Akiyama (Tohoku Univ.), T.Fujiwara (Tohoku Univ.), Q. Meng (Nanjing Univ.), T. Mukaraki (Univ. of Tokyo), K. Sakai (Tohoku Univ.), Thiri Yadar Htun (Suranaree Univ. of Tech).

(3) Organizers:

A. Dote (KEK), E. Hiyama (RIKEN), A. Hosaka (RCNP, Co-Chair), T. Nakano (RCNP),

K. Maeda (Tohoku), S.N. Nakamura (Tohoku, Co-Chair), H. Noumi (RCNP/KEK), H. Ohnishi (ELPH, Tohoku), M. Oka (TITECH, JAEA), K. Ozawa (KEK), T. Suda (ELPH, Tohoku), T. Takahashi (KEK, Co-Chair), K.H.Tanaka (KEK), H. Tamura (Tohoku), Y.Tanimura (GPPU-Tohoku), M. Yosoi (RCNP)

Contact: Atsushi Hosaka

hosaka@rcnp.osaka-u.ac.jp